The Wolfman

“Even a man who is pure in heart and says his prayers by night, may become a wolf when the wolfbane blooms and the autumn moon is bright.”

“For we know that the law is spiritual; but I am of the flesh, sold into slavery under sin. I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree that the law is good. But in fact it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot do it. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I do. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me.” (Romans 7:14-20, NRSV)

last Friday, February 12, Universal Pictures realeased The Wolfman starring Benicio Del Toro as Lawrence Talbot/The Wolfman, Anthony Hopkins as Sir John Talbot, his father, with Hugo Weaving and Emily Blunt. i loved it. it was a good scare and had some great thrills. the special effects were excellent. i enjoyed the acting, writing, and direction. it’s getting mixed reviews and is thought to be a poor remake/reimagining of the 1941 original, The Wolf Man. the ’41 version is worth watching; it’s a great film as well. however, i did like the 2010 version better, especially the time period within which it was set.

the inner conflict Paul talks about in Romans is brought to life in The Wolfman and other monster movies like it. there are plenty of people, all of us at times, who struggle with inner/personal demons or inner/personal monsters. by day, these people seem like they always do. they’re our neighbors, our friends, our family, our co-workers, etc. by night, or when the moon is full, or any other trigger sets off that inner conflict they become a monster, they become something they don’t want to be; they do things they don’t want to do. they need to be set free; we need to be set free.

luckily we, and anyone who wants it, do not need a silver bullet to be set free from our monsters. we have the love, grace, and mercy found in the salvation made available by the life, ministry, suffering, death, resurrection, and ascension of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

